As a tool for strengthening current professional development efforts, we are using the five standards of the Purpose Driven Teacher.  The five standards provide direction for designing a professional development experience that ensures educators acquire the necessary knowledge and skills.
    Five standards of the Purpose Driven Teacher (PDT):
    1. Communication
    2. Management
    3. Data Expert 
    4. Curriculum Expert
    5. Instruction Expert
    What does professional learning "really" mean?
    Historically staff development has been synonymous with workshops, courses, and presentations by "experts."
    However, today we know that professional learning can take many forms and that the greatest professional learning comes from the collaboration and learning among educators.  Therefore, in order to improve student learning, we have to improve teacher learning and recognize that sustained, intellectually rigorous professional development is essential for everyone in the educational organization.
    What are some ways we learn?
    PLC meetings- A PLC is an ongoing process in which educators work collaboratively in recurring cycles of collective inquiry and action research to achieve better results for the students they serve. (Dufour, Dufour, Eaker & Many, 2010, p.111)
    Book studies
    Professional organizations
    Education Service Center
    Professional conferences 
    Atomic Learning- self paced, online learning 
    Common planning- TEKS deconstruction and data analysis 
    T-TESS Coaching and Goal Setting